Yesterday was the last day of school.  It was my fifth year in a school environment, 2nd year at this particular school, which is longer than any of the other ones.  I’ve been in 4 different schools buildings in various states and they all have their issues.  I have to say it’s always an emotional day when the school year ends and while yesterday I could feel a release of things, it was the most gentle let down of them all.  Almost a relief.  I feel kind of guilty saying it, but it’s been a rough year.  By the end of April, I wasn’t sure I was going to make it another 30 days.  I have lots of theories and opinions on education, which I won’t go into at this time, but I read an article today that infuriated me.  People, especially politicians, are so naive as to what goes on on a daily basis in our schools, yet they decide these crazy policies.  So, I’m thankful for this break.  You can say what you want about teachers and education, but until you walk in our shoes for more than a day I encourage you not to judge prematurely.  And, if you know a teacher you should thank them.  The good ones work really hard at what they do.

 

On a brighter note…this summer is shaping up nicely to have some fun activities.  Baby showers, visits with friends, a beach vacation, and pedicures.  It’s getting too hard to bend over due to the little one getting bigger (see below), so I’m treating myself to one each month.  July is already scheduled.  Need to get on June and August.  A little out of order, I know.

 

 So thankful for every little kick and wiggle from Eli’s tiny legs and arms.  It truly is an amazing experience (not to mention reassuring knowing he’s still alive and kickin’) and I think I’m actually going to miss it once he arrives.